TradeDial is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you click provider links — it never affects our rankings. The vendor links in this article are currently ordinary links, not tracked affiliate links. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
If you’re comparing phone systems for a small business, Nextiva and RingCentral (now branded RingEX) are the two heavyweights most likely to land on your shortlist — and they come at the problem from opposite directions. Nextiva is the value-and-service play: lower entry pricing, guided onboarding included, and a reputation built on customer support. RingCentral is the enterprise incumbent: deeper multi-location management, bigger brand recognition, and a feature set built for scale — with pricing that’s harder to pin down and ratings that trail its rival.
Verdict up front: For most small businesses, Nextiva is the better pick. Core starts at $15/user/month on annual billing versus RingCentral Core at $20, onboarding through its Service Delivery team is included at no extra charge, and its review scores are meaningfully stronger (G2 4.5 vs 4.2). Choose RingCentral if you’re running multiple locations or a real call operation and need enterprise-grade multisite management and analytics — that’s the workload RingCentral was built for.
All prices below were checked on the vendors’ official pages in September 2026. One caveat: RingCentral’s pricing table is JavaScript-dependent and did not fully render during our check, so its prices below come from RingCentral’s own published pricing text — we say so wherever a figure couldn’t be verified in the full table. Pricing changes frequently, so treat these as the documented snapshot, not a quote. Our research is documentation-based — published pricing, feature docs, and aggregated review scores — never hands-on testing. See how we evaluate.
Nextiva vs RingCentral: head-to-head
| Nextiva | RingCentral (RingEX) | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $15/user/month (Core, annual billing) | $20/user/month (Core, annual — per RingCentral’s own pricing text) |
| Middle tier | $25/user/month (Engage, annual) | $25/user/month (Advanced, annual — per official pricing text) |
| Top tier | $75/user/month (Scale, annual) | Unverified — pricing table is JavaScript-gated; confirm on RingCentral’s site |
| Month-to-month | Available at roughly 35–50% above annual (exact prices unpublished) | Unverified — pricing table is JavaScript-gated |
| Contract | 12-month contract on annual pricing; early-termination fee not stated | States “No Contracts” on its site (annual obligations not fully documented) |
| Number porting | Supported on all plans; free porting not stated | Supported; specifics not verified on official pages during our check |
| Setup | No setup fees; onboarding via Service Delivery team included | Not published on pricing pages; guided setup via sales |
| Free trial | No trial; free demo only | 14 days (up to 20 lines; no SMS in the trial) |
| Call recording | Engage ($25) and up | Advanced ($25) and up |
| Multi-location | Supported; depth favors larger setups on higher tiers | Multisite management on Advanced ($25); enterprise-grade |
| Analytics | Call analytics on Engage and up | Deep analytics and reporting; strongest on Advanced |
| BAA / HIPAA | Executes a BAA across plans (vendor docs); restrictions apply on HIPAA accounts | BAA made available to “paying Covered Entity customers” (March 2026 whitepaper) |
| User ratings (2026) | G2 4.5/5 (~3,622); Capterra 4.6/5 (~919) | G2 4.2/5 (~1,434); Capterra 4.2/5 (~1,206) |
Pricing: transparent tiers vs. sales-gated pricing
Nextiva publishes clean, checkable pricing: Core $15/user/month, Engage $25, and Scale $75, all on annual billing with a 12-month contract. Month-to-month service is available at roughly 35–50% above the annual rate, though exact monthly per-tier prices aren’t published. There are no setup fees, and onboarding is included.
RingCentral’s pricing is harder to verify independently. Its pricing table is JavaScript-dependent and didn’t fully render during our September 2026 check, so we worked from RingCentral’s own published pricing text: Core $20/user/month and Advanced $25/user/month billed annually. Monthly and top-tier prices are unverified — we don’t quote third-party numbers as fact, so confirm current pricing on RingCentral’s site before budgeting. RingCentral does offer a 14-day free trial (up to 20 lines, though SMS isn’t included in the trial).
For a ten-person business, the documented math favors Nextiva: Core on annual billing runs about $1,800/year versus about $2,400/year for RingCentral Core — a $600/year gap before taxes and hardware. At the middle tier both vendors land at $25/user/month (Nextiva Engage vs RingCentral Advanced), which is where the comparison gets interesting: that’s the tier where recording, analytics, and serious call handling appear on both sides.
Contracts and commitment
Nextiva’s advertised prices require annual billing under a 12-month contract, and the early-termination fee was not stated on the official pricing page — ask sales for the exact terms before signing. There is no self-serve trial, only a free personalized demo, so you’re committing based on a sales conversation.
RingCentral states “No Contracts” on its site, though the details of annual billing obligations aren’t fully documented on the pages we checked. Its 14-day trial is a genuine advantage here: you can put the system in front of your team before any commitment. For a buyer nervous about signing a contract with a vendor they haven’t used, the trial meaningfully de-risks the decision.
Features: service depth vs. enterprise breadth
Nextiva’s feature story is about doing the fundamentals well with a service wrapper. Core includes auto-attendant, SMS, voicemail transcription, and voicemail-to-email; Engage adds call recording, analytics, and the Call Flow Builder for routing calls across lines and locations. Business SMS and MMS, iOS/Android mobile apps, TCPA-compliant consent tracking, encrypted virtual fax, and PCI-DSS-certified payment assist round out a package aimed squarely at small businesses that live on the phone.
RingCentral’s feature story is about scale. Core covers the VoIP essentials; Advanced adds automatic call recording, advanced call handling, multisite management, and CRM integrations — the toolkit for a business running several offices or a dedicated support line. IVR/auto-attendant, SMS/MMS, voicemail-to-text, and call queues are in the mix, with the deepest analytics and reporting of any system at this price point. Its enterprise footprint is real: Westland Insurance rolled RingCentral out to 2,200+ employees, a deployment size Nextiva doesn’t advertise.
The honest framing: Nextiva gives a small business more hand-holding per dollar; RingCentral gives a growing business more ceiling. A five-person shop will use maybe half of RingCentral Advanced; a fifty-person multi-office operation will outgrow Nextiva Core.
BAA and HIPAA: what the vendors actually say
We do not independently claim any vendor is HIPAA compliant. Here is what each vendor states on its own official pages.
Nextiva executes a BAA across its plans, per its own documentation. Its official HIPAA support page says its healthcare package “complies with the additional monitoring required by HIPAA,” with restrictions on HIPAA accounts: SMS/MMS is not HIPAA compliant (no PHI by text), and voicemail-to-email attachments and voicemail transcription are disabled.
RingCentral publishes the most formal HIPAA documentation of the major vendors: a March 2026 whitepaper stating it “makes available a business associate agreement (BAA) for our paying Covered Entity customers,” describing encryption in transit and at rest, with BAA requirements flowing down to subcontractors. Its RingCX contact center supports HIPAA workflows “for organizations that have a BAA in place.”
For the full healthcare comparison, see our HIPAA phone systems guide. Whichever vendor you choose: sign the BAA, configure the HIPAA settings, and train your staff — the paperwork is the easy part.
Support and onboarding
This is Nextiva’s strongest card. No setup fees, with onboarding and implementation support included through its Service Delivery team — porting, auto-attendant design, and staff training with a human guiding you. For a small business without IT staff, that white-glove layer is worth real money, and it’s baked into the $15 entry price.
RingCentral’s support story is enterprise-shaped: deep documentation, a large customer base, and onboarding oriented around bigger deployments. The 14-day trial doubles as a self-serve evaluation — your team can validate call quality and the admin console hands-on. But there’s no published equivalent of Nextiva’s included Service Delivery onboarding at the entry tier; expect the experience to be more self-directed unless you’re buying at a scale that gets sales attention.
Who should choose which
Pick Nextiva if: you want the lowest entry price ($15 vs $20), guided onboarding included, stronger user ratings, and a vendor built around small-business service. Core is enough for a single-location shop; step up to Engage ($25) when you need recording and analytics.
Pick RingCentral if: you’re running multiple locations, planning to scale past a few dozen seats, or need enterprise-grade multisite management and deep analytics. Advanced ($25, annual) is the tier where RingCentral’s strengths actually appear — Core is just a more expensive entry ticket.
If neither fits — for example, you want AI transcription on every plan or a no-contract option — see our Nextiva vs Ooma head-to-head and our phone system cost guide for the other value picks.
Frequently asked questions
Is Nextiva or RingCentral cheaper for a small business?
Nextiva, at the entry tier: Core is $15/user/month on annual billing versus RingCentral Core at $20 — about $600/year less for ten users. At the middle tier both are $25/user/month (Nextiva Engage vs RingCentral Advanced, annual). RingCentral’s monthly and top-tier prices couldn’t be verified on its JavaScript-gated pricing page, so confirm before comparing totals.
Which is better for a multi-location business?
RingCentral. Multisite management on the Advanced tier, deep analytics, and a proven enterprise footprint (Westland Insurance’s 2,200+ employee rollout) make it the stronger multi-office pick. Nextiva supports multi-location setups, but its depth favors smaller operations.
Do Nextiva or RingCentral require a contract?
Nextiva’s advertised prices require a 12-month contract on annual billing; the early-termination fee wasn’t stated on its pricing page. RingCentral states “No Contracts” on its site, though annual billing obligations aren’t fully documented — and its 14-day trial lets you evaluate before committing either way.
Which has better customer support?
By the numbers, Nextiva: G2 4.5/5 (~3,622 reviews) and Capterra 4.6/5 (~919) versus RingCentral’s G2 4.2/5 (~1,434) and Capterra 4.2/5 (~1,206) — and Nextiva includes guided onboarding through its Service Delivery team at no extra charge. Review scores are directional, not destiny, but the gap is consistent across both platforms.
Do Nextiva or RingCentral offer a free trial?
RingCentral offers a 14-day free trial (up to 20 lines; SMS not included in the trial). Nextiva offers no self-serve trial — only a free personalized demo.
Can I keep my existing business phone number?
Both support number porting. Nextiva supports porting on all plans (free porting not stated); for RingCentral, porting specifics weren’t verifiable on the official pages we checked — confirm with sales. Either way, don’t cancel your old service until the port completes.
The bottom line
For most small businesses, Nextiva is the smarter buy: cheaper entry pricing, included white-glove onboarding, and stronger ratings across thousands of reviews. RingCentral earns its place when you’re buying for scale — multiple offices, dozens of seats, real analytics needs — where its multisite management and enterprise depth justify the higher entry price and the extra work of pinning down pricing. If you’re a single-location shop, you’re paying RingCentral’s enterprise premium without using the enterprise features.
Related guides
- Nextiva vs Ooma for Dental Offices
- How Much Does a Phone System Cost?
- Best Phone Systems for HIPAA-Regulated Practices
- How TradeDial evaluates phone systems
Last updated: September 2026. Our research is documentation-based — published pricing, feature docs, and aggregated review scores — never hands-on testing. Prices change frequently, so confirm current pricing on each vendor’s official site before you buy.