TradeDial is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page – it never affects our rankings. Read our full disclosure.
If you’re comparing phone systems for your dental practice, Nextiva and Ooma Office are two of the most common shortlist names, and they represent two very different philosophies. Nextiva is the feature-heavy platform with guided onboarding and a deep bench of analytics, sold on annual contracts. Ooma Office is the simpler, cheaper-to-start option with no contract and a dental-friendly call pop through its NexHealth partnership.
Verdict up front: Choose Ooma Office if you want a simple, low-commitment phone system for a small or mid-size practice, with free number transfer, no contract, and patient caller ID via NexHealth. Choose Nextiva if you’re comfortable with a 12-month commitment and want stronger analytics, call recording depth, and the white-glove onboarding that comes with its Service Delivery team, especially for larger or multi-location practices.
All prices below were checked on the vendors’ official pages in September 2026. Pricing changes frequently, so treat these as the documented snapshot, not a quote.
Nextiva vs Ooma: head-to-head
| Nextiva | Ooma Office | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $15/user/month (Core, annual billing) | $19.95/user/month (Essentials); Pro $24.95 |
| Middle tier | $25/user/month (Engage, annual) | $24.95/user/month (Pro) |
| Billing | Annual confirmed; month-to-month available at roughly 35-50% more | Single price shown per tier; no annual discount verified |
| Contract | 12-month contract on annual pricing | “No Contract Necessary” (official plans page) |
| Number porting | Supported on all plans; free porting not stated | FREE Number Transfer (official) |
| Setup | No setup fees; onboarding via Service Delivery team | About 15 minutes, no technical expertise claimed; activation fee not verified |
| Free trial | No trial; free demo only | Not verified on official pages |
| Dental integration | None named on official pages | Patient Caller-ID Pop via NexHealth partnership |
| BAA / HIPAA | BAA required; vendor states healthcare package supports HIPAA monitoring | “HIPAA mode”; admin virtually signs a BAA |
| User ratings (2026) | G2 4.5/5 (~3,622); Capterra 4.6/5 (~919) | G2 4.5/5 (~134); Capterra 4.4/5 (~248) |
Pricing: per-user plans, two different philosophies
Both vendors price per user per month, but the structures differ. Nextiva splits by billing cycle: Core is $15/user/month, Engage is $25, and Scale is $75, all on annual billing with a 12-month contract. Month-to-month service is available at roughly 35-50% above the annual rate, though exact monthly per-tier prices are not published on Nextiva’s pricing page.
Ooma Office publishes a single price per tier with no separate annual/monthly split shown: Essentials $19.95/user/month, Pro $24.95, and Pro Plus $29.95 (Enterprise is a custom quote). No annual discount is visible on Ooma’s pages, so what you see is what you pay.
For a five-person practice, the math is straightforward. Nextiva Core on annual billing runs about $900/year before taxes and hardware. Ooma Pro (the comparable tier, since it adds call recording, the desktop app, voicemail transcription, and SMS) runs about $1,497/year. That means Nextiva is cheaper on paper, but the 12-month contract locks you in, while Ooma lets you walk away. (See the full cost breakdown in our dental phone system cost guide.)
Contracts and commitment
This is the starkest difference. Nextiva’s advertised prices require annual billing under a 12-month contract, and the early-termination fee was not stated on the official pricing page. The page’s “cancel anytime” wording applies only to the contact-center section, so don’t generalize it to the business phone plans.
Ooma’s official plans page says “No Contract Necessary” on all three listed tiers. For a practice that has been burned by legacy phone contracts, that is a meaningful difference. Neither vendor verified a free trial on the official pages we checked, though Nextiva offers a free personalized demo.
Dental-specific features
Neither system is dental-native, but Ooma has the stronger dental connection. Ooma’s official partnership with NexHealth lets the NexHealth Synchronizer sync patient information from your practice management system into Ooma Office, so the desktop app shows Patient Caller-ID Pop (previous visit date, next visit date, and family member names) when a patient calls. That is the closest either provider gets to a dental screen pop.
Nextiva’s official pages name no dental practice management integrations (no Dentrix, Open Dental, or Eaglesoft claims located). What Nextiva does offer are strong general telephony features: Core includes auto-attendant, SMS, voicemail transcription, and voicemail-to-email, while Engage adds call recording and analytics. For a practice that mainly needs reliable phones with good reporting rather than patient-record popups, that feature set is plenty.
Call management and missed calls
Missed calls are the hidden cost in every dental practice: the vendor mConsent estimates that missing just three new-patient calls a week can cost over $180,000 a year in first-year patient value (their own illustrative math, not an independent finding).
On paper, both systems cover the essentials: auto-attendant (Ooma calls it a virtual receptionist), voicemail transcription, SMS, and call forwarding. Ooma Pro adds call recording and a desktop app; Ooma Pro Plus adds call queues, CRM integrations, hot desking, and multilocation features. Nextiva reserves call recording and analytics for Engage ($25), while Core keeps to the basics.
One practical note: Ooma’s official FAQ lists only generic integrations (Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics). If you want patient-record screen pops, you need the NexHealth route; Ooma’s native integrations are not dental-specific.
BAA and HIPAA: what the vendors actually say
We do not independently claim any vendor is HIPAA compliant. Here is what each vendor states on its own official pages.
Nextiva requires a comprehensive BAA. Its official HIPAA support page says its healthcare package “complies with the additional monitoring required by HIPAA,” with important restrictions on HIPAA accounts: SMS/MMS is not HIPAA compliant (no PHI by text), and voicemail-to-email attachments and voicemail transcription are disabled.
Ooma offers a “HIPAA mode” that its official article describes as “designed to help health-care organizations to meet HIPAA requirements.” The admin virtually signs a BAA, and HIPAA mode encrypts voicemail, call recordings, video recordings, and faxes in transit and at rest. SMS is disabled in HIPAA mode.
The practical takeaway: both vendors will sign a BAA and both disable SMS under HIPAA mode or restrictions. If your front desk texts patients, check whether you would be using the vendor’s approved patient-engagement tooling rather than the phone system’s native SMS.
Support and onboarding
Nextiva’s strength is service: no setup fees, with onboarding and implementation support included through its Service Delivery team. That matters if you want someone to hold your hand through porting, auto-attendant design, and staff training.
Ooma’s strength is simplicity: the official page claims installation takes about 15 minutes with no technical expertise needed, plus free number transfer. That fits a small practice that wants to be up and running the same afternoon. An activation fee could not be verified on Ooma’s official pages, so confirm before you buy.
So which should your practice pick?
Pick Ooma Office if: you want no contract, the fastest setup, free number transfer, and patient caller ID through NexHealth. Pro ($24.95) is the tier most practices want, since it adds call recording, the desktop app, transcription, and SMS over Essentials.
Pick Nextiva if: you want guided onboarding, stronger analytics and recording (Engage, $25), and the lowest annual per-user price for a feature-complete core plan, and you’re comfortable with a 12-month contract. Multi-location practices get more from Nextiva’s depth.
If neither fits (for example, you want phones that talk directly to Dentrix, Open Dental, or Eaglesoft), see our full roundup of the best phone systems for dental offices, where Weave’s native practice-management integrations set it apart from both.
Frequently asked questions
Is Nextiva or Ooma cheaper for a dental office?
Nextiva Core ($15/user/month, annual) is cheaper than Ooma Pro ($24.95/user/month): about $900 vs $1,497 per year for five users before taxes and hardware. But Nextiva requires a 12-month contract, while Ooma has no contract, and Ooma’s price has no billing-cycle catch.
Do Nextiva or Ooma integrate with Dentrix or Open Dental?
Neither has a native dental-PMS integration on its official pages. Ooma comes closest through its official NexHealth partnership, which syncs patient records into Ooma Office for Patient Caller-ID Pop. Nextiva offers no named dental integration.
Do Nextiva and Ooma sign a HIPAA BAA?
Yes to both, per the vendors’ own pages. Nextiva requires a comprehensive BAA and applies restrictions on HIPAA accounts (no SMS/MMS with PHI, voicemail-to-email attachments and transcription disabled). Ooma offers a HIPAA mode where the admin virtually signs a BAA, with encryption of voicemail, recordings, and faxes, and SMS disabled. We do not independently certify any vendor’s HIPAA compliance.
Can I cancel Nextiva or Ooma without a penalty?
Ooma’s official plans page states “No Contract Necessary,” so cancellation carries no contractual penalty. Nextiva’s annual pricing requires a 12-month contract, and its early-termination fee was not stated on the official pricing page, so ask sales for the exact terms before signing.
Last updated September 2026. Prices change frequently, so confirm current pricing on each vendor’s official site before you buy.
Related guides
Also see our Weave alternatives for dental offices and guide to phone systems for HIPAA-regulated practices.